Architecture Competitions Lighting Design

The Daylight Award 2022 is open for nominations

August 4, 2021

The Daylight Award honours and supports daylight research and daylight in architecture, for the benefit of human health, well-being and the environment. The award places specific emphasis on the interrelation between theory and practice.
The Daylight Award was established by the philanthropic foundations VILLUM FONDEN, VELUX FONDEN and VELUX STIFTUNG, and is conferred biennially in two categories; The Daylight Award for Research and The Daylight Award for Architecture. The award is given as personal prizes, and each to the sum of €100,000.

Nominations for The Daylight Award 2022, the dual prize for research and architecture are now open. This is a unique opportunity for researchers and architects to acknowledge fellow professionals for their dedicated focus on daylight. Nominations will stay open until 30 September 2021.

The dual prize is organised under the common name The Daylight Award with the purpose of creating a closer correlation between research and architecture, emphasising the dependency of theory and practice and connecting the two worlds that should create synergies and strive for better living conditions. The Daylight Award strives to trigger fresh perspectives and provoke new ways of thinking among researchers and practitioners.

The Daylight Award for Research will be given to an individual or a group of researchers whose work puts special emphasis on the effects of daylight on human health, well-being and performance. The jury will look for focus on daylight as a key element in the research work of the nominees. The nominations are open to all areas of research such as natural science, human science or social science.

The Daylight Award for Architecture is awarded to individuals or a group of architects or other professionals whose projects and works showcase unique use of – and dedication to daylight. Special emphasis will be put on series of works that consider the overall quality of human life, its value to the society and impact on the environment.

The Daylight Award will actively solicit nominations from professional organisations, architects, researchers and other professionals who have an expertise and interest in the field of daylight research and daylight in architecture. Additionally, the Award accepts individual nominations from professionals.

Email your nominations to: nomination at thedaylightaward dot com

The Jury for the Daylight Award 2022

The Jury will undertake deliberations during the following months, and the 2022 laureates will be announced on 16 May 2022.

Anne Lacaton; photo credit: Holcim Lafarge Foundation

Anne Lacaton: Principal of Lacaton & Vassal Architectes, Paris, laureate of The Daylight Award in 2011, winner of the EU Mies Award 2019 and The 2021 Pritzker Prize Laureate, associate Professor of Architecture & Design at ETH Zurich.

Dorte Mandrup; photo credit: Cecilie-Lindegaard-Jensen

Dorte Mandrup: founder of Dorte Mandrup A/S, Copenhagen, chair of the Mies van der Rohe Award 2019, Adjunct Professor at The Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts and holds frequent visiting professorships abroad.

Marilyn Andersen

Marilyne Andersen: Professor of Sustainable Construction Technologies and Dean of the School of Architecture, Civil and Environmental Engineering at École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, and laureate of The Daylight Award in 2016.

Gerd Folkers

Gerd Folkers: Professor for Pharmaceutical Chemistry since at the ETH Zurich. He previously served at the Swiss National Science Foundation and has been director of the Collegium Helveticum since 2012. He has been a member of the Swiss Science Council and served as its President until 2019.

Russel Foster

Russell Foster: Director of the Nuffield Laboratory of Ophthalmology and Head of the Sleep and Circadian Neuroscience Institute at the University of Oxford. In 2020, Russell Foster was awarded with The Daylight Award for Research.

Juhani Pallasmaa

Juhani Pallasmaa: Finnish architect, writer, teacher and practicing architect who has lectured extensively across the world for more than 40 years. From 2009-2014, he served on the jury for the Pritzker Architecture Prize.

Koen Steemers

Koen Steemers: Professor of Sustainable Design, The Martin Centre for Architectural and Urban Studies, Department of Architecture, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom with an extensive architectural research assessment experience.

For more details, visit The Daylight Award

You might also like:

Juha Leiviskä, Russell Foster and Henry Plummer receive The Daylight Award 2020

Opinion: Melvyn Law on why light pollution poses a serious threat to urban cities aiming for sustainability

Formafantasma designs new lighting product for Flos with flattened industrial power cables

You Might Also Like